Uncategorized

Revision tips and tricks!

hi!

as you may know, i am currently in year 11, that means that this year i will be taking my GCSE’s. I have recently started revising as there is so much i need to cover.

I always find it easier to concentrate if my desk area, and the rest of my room is tidy, so before i start revising i usually tidy up quickly. It makes my mind feel less cluttered and i feel that i revise more efficiently when my room is tidy.

I personally like to revise by making revision notes, if you do this to, i highly recommend using lots of different colours. I like to change colour when the topic changes, this way my notes are slightly more fun to read over and all of the different topics can be easily distinguished

IMG_6728

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I bought myself a set of Muji gel pens to use when making revision notes, because the colours are really bright and they are really easy to write with.

IMG_6725

I also find it really useful to make posters with key information (eg. maths equations, historic dates etc…)  and stick them on my wardrobe, this way i cant help but look at it, and it is easy to look over and remember the information quicker. I also used coloured sharpies to make these posters so that they would be super easy to read and also not boring to look at.

20150705_182443

while i was revising for my mocks in December, i didn’t have enough time to revise everything in depth, for R.E (religious education) i recorded myself saying key religious beliefs and attitudes and then listened to the recording while i was going to sleep. I found this really useful and i found that i remembered the quotes that i needed to much easier. I will probably use this technique again with historic dates, or facts i will need for Geography case studies.

revision techniques vary a lot from person to person, i find that listening to music quietly in the background helps me to revise better, however a lot of my friend say that they need it to be silent to study well. I also don’t find it useful to take breaks, personally once i start revising i get into the ‘zone’ and taking breaks just reminds me of all the other things i would rather be doing. But if you are a person who works better with regular breaks, i would recommend making yourself a timetable so after revising for a certain amount of time, you give yourself a short break, and then go back to studying. I also think it is also best to have a bottle of water near by when you are revising, because it is quite easy to forget to drink if you are busy with lots of work. I would also avoid revising late at night as it is less likely for the information to stick in your brain, and you will just feel tired and grumpy the next day.

Basically, find what works for you, and maybe give a few of these techniques a try is your struggling! Revision can be pretty boring, and not many people enjoy it; but it has to be done, and it’ll be worth it.

Thank you for reading!

The small quiet one X

Standard

6 thoughts on “Revision tips and tricks!

Leave a Reply

