30 day blogging challenge

Pets


The 17th day of the 30 day blogging challenge is a post about my pets:

I currently have two rabbits, on of them is pretty big, she’s an orange/brown colour and she’s a lionheard cross lop, so she has long hair around her face; she’s around 6/7 years old. The other is smaller, he’s a lighter orange/brown colour and he’s a pure lionhead, so he’s super fluffy pretty much everywhere, and he’s around 4 years old. They are both pretty friendly, but they would rather not be picked up. 

I also have a dog, he’s a poodle cross long haired chihuahua so he’s small, he’s back all over and has long hair and he’s around 5 years old. He’s not the friendliest, he gets very possessive over things, and he doesn’t seem to like me very much, but he adores my mum.

Lastly I have a horse, Belle is a 14.2 hh and a Welsh section D, she’s 19 years old but I’ve hade her for over 3 years. She was a brood are for the first nine years of her life, and had at least 3 foals, after that she was passed around from home to home, until a lady saw her being beaten by her then owner, the lady bought Belle for her 5 year old niece to ride, this was where Belle was first ridden, she then sold Belle to another lady, who later found out she was ill so she couldn’t ride Belle anymore, I saw the advert for Belle on Facebook and since she was virtually free I asked my mum if we could go and see her, since we had been discussing possibly getting a pony for a while. When we arrived Belle saw me and my mum and she started whinnying at us, and that’s the point where I fell in love with her, and luckily so did my mum. I did try riding her, but their sand school was a bit small to canter in, so I only did a bit of walk and trot. We ended up buying her a few weeks later, and I discovered that Belle didn’t actually know how to canter with a person on her back, so I did a lot of training with her. After the years if being passed around and abused she was incredibly nervous and spooked at the tiniest of things, so I also had to desensitise her to a lot of stuff. We were doing really well with dressage and she was much more confident, when she started bucking a lot when I was riding, so we got her back checked, her saddle checked and had the vet out numerous times, and there was a lot of small things that could possibly cause her to be uncomfortable, so I decided to retire her, her body is just not fit or healthy enough to be ridden anymore because of the amount of muscle wastage and her past of mistreatment. I still go and see her everyday and I still adore her, I just really miss riding her.

Thank you for reading!

The small quiet one X

Standard

2 thoughts on “Pets

  1. L says:

    I would love to have a rabbit. They seem so cute and calm, although I’m sure the latter of those two is far from the truth at food times!
    Wow! It must be amazing to have a horse! They’re always so relaxed and calming: how could anybody abuse one? I really hope that they realise what damage they’ve caused, but knowing humans, I fear otherwise. Great post X

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are so adorable, and very greedy 😂 I’m so so so lucky to have a horse and it is the best thing that has happened to me. I will never understand how anyone could mistreat any animal, my poor pony is so nervous and jumpy because of her past and it’s so sad to see, sadly I highly doubt they really care what damage they have done 😦 thank you! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

